Kent Fire
Serving the City of Kent,
Franklin Twp. and
Sugar Bush Knolls
Non-Emergency: 330-676-7393
Emergency: Dial 9-1-1

The City of Kent Fire Department is a full-time department with 30 members who work 24 hours on duty and 48 hours off. Each of the three shifts are comprised of eight Firefighters, a Lieutenant, plus a Captain who is the Shift Commander.  In addition to Emergency Medical Services (EMS) and Firefighting, the Fire Department participates in the Portage County Search and Rescue Team and performs rope, water, ice, auto, confined space and structural collapse rescue throughout the region.  The Fire Department also is heavily involved in the Portage County Hazardous Materials Response Team helping to insure that Haz-Mat incidents are cleaned up promptly and safely.


The Prevention Bureau is comprised of two Lieutenants who work a traditional 40-hour week, and are responsible for the delivery of our fire safety education programs as well as fire safety inspections and preplan reviews.  They also work closely with the City Building Department and Kent State University to insure that all building projects follow the latest in building codes.


The City of Kent Fire Department is led by Chief John Tosko with the assistance of one administrative staff person.  The City also has contractual agreements with Franklin Township and Sugar Bush Knolls for all of the above services.

Our department is responsible for over 34,000 residents in 27 square miles with an additional 28,000 students during the Kent State school year.  We meet the needs of our community by responding to over 4,000 incidents annually.   Over 80% of our calls are EMS responses and the rest are structural fires and other emergencies such as car crashes, service calls and carbon monoxide incidents.

The City of Kent Fire Department is required by law to maintain the privacy of certain confidential health care information, known as Protected Health Information or PHI (See resource tab for Privacy Notice).

Contact Information:

Chief Tosko